Carey named first-team All-Pac-12

Arizona sophomore running back Ka’Deem Carey is a first-team selection on the All-Pac-12 football team, which was voted on by conference head coaches and announced by the league office on Monday.

Carey, who leads the nation in rushing yards (1,757) and yards per game (146.42) is Arizona’s first first-team running back since Clarence Farmer in 2001. Carey broke Trung Canidate’s single-season school-record rushing mark of 1,602 yards from 1999. He broke the Pac-12 and Arizona record for yards in a game with 366 against Colorado on Nov. 10. He’s tied for third nationally with 21 touchdowns (20 rushing, one receiving) and has nine games with 100-plus rushing yards.

Two Wildcats were second-team All-Pac-12 selections: Senior quarterback Matt Scott and sophomore wide receiver Austin Hill. Scott ranks second in the Pac-12 with 3,238 passing yards and has also run for 485 yards. He has 24 touchdown passes and five running touchdowns. Hill ranks ninth nationally with 1,189 receiving yards. He has 73 receptions and nine touchdowns.

Senior receiver Dan Buckner, junior linebacker Jake Fischer, senior center Kyle Quinn and sophomore safety Jared Tevis were honorable mention selections.

The Pac-12 players of the year were USC sophomore receiver Marqise Lee on offense and Arizona State junior defensive tackle Will Sutton on defense. The freshmen of the year were Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota and USC defensive end Leonard Williams.

Stanford’s David Shaw is coach of the year for the second year in a row.

Oregon and Stanford each had five first-team selection, while Oregon State had four. USC’s Lee was the only unanimous selection.

The first team consists of 14 seniors, five juniors, six sophomores and one freshman. Utah defensive tackle Star Lotulelei and Stanford linebacker Chase Thomas are repeat selections form 2011. UCLA punter Jeff Locke and USC offensive lineman Kaled Holmes were named first team All-Pac-12 and first team Pac-12 All-Academic.