Big 12 teams now required to play non-conference vs. Power 5

IRVING, Texas (AP) — Big 12 football teams will now be required to play at least one non-conference game against a team from one of the other Power Five leagues.

The Big 12 announced Tuesday that teams will have to annually play against a team from the ACC, Big Ten, Pac-12 or SEC, or Notre Dame.

Commissioner Bob Bowlsby says the move will strengthen the resumes for all 10 of the Big 12 teams. Schedule strength is a key component in College Football Playoff selections.

No. 4 Oklahoma is in the four-team playoff this season. But Baylor and TCU were both left out of the first playoff last year when both went 11-1 and shared the Big 12 title.

The new requirement doesn’t affect existing non-conference game contracts, including next season’s games.


– PHOTOS: Cowboys Cheerleaders Auditions

– Top 50 college football coaches salaries in 2015

– Most improbable bowl comebacks of the last 10 seasons

– Oldest player on every NBA team