30 facts for 30 years since Dolphins’ last visit to the Super Bowl

On Jan. 20, 1985, the Miami Dolphins lost to the San Francisco 49ers 38-16 in Super Bowl XIX. The Dolphins have not played in a Super Bowl since.

Focus On Sport/Getty Images

January 20, 1985.

Although the the Miami Dolphins lost to the San Francisco 49ers 38-16 in Super Bowl XIX that day, with famed coach Don Shula and a young star quarterback in Dan Marino, it seemed only a matter of time before they were back in the big game.

Alas, in the 30 years since Super Bowl XIX, the Dolphins have barely sniffed the Super Bowl let alone played in it again.

To commemorate the 30th anniversary of the Dolphins’ last Super Bowl appearance we bring you 30 facts to ponder:

1. Marino’s teams made the playoffs eight more times before the team declined to use their team option on his contract in 2000. They would go on to make just three more playoff appearances over the next 15 years, with their last in 2008.

2. Before Super Bowl XIX, the Dolphins had won seven AFC East titles. Since then, they have won five — but just twice (2000, 2008) since Marino retired.

3. The New England Patriots have won 15 AFC East titles in the 30 years since.

4. Marino’s postseason record after Super Bowl XIX: 6-8.

5. Dolphins’ best regular-season record since Super Bowl XIX: 12-4 (1985, 1990)

6. Dolphins’ worst regular-season record since Super Bowl XIX: 1-15 (2007)

7. Dolphins’ overall regular-season record since Super Bowl XIX: 252-227

8. Dolphins’ postseason record since Super Bowl XIX: 7-11

9. Total AFC Championship game appearances since Super Bowl XIX: 2

Dan Marino played in just two more AFC championship games after helping lead the Dolphins to the Super Bowl in his second season in the NFL.

10. Miami has finished 8-8 six times their last Super Bowl appearance — and failed to reach the postseason each time.

11. Number of times Miami has beaten that season’s eventual Super Bowl champion in the last 30 years: 8

12. Number of games they lost to the eventual Super Bowl champion: 9

13. Just two months after the Dolphins played in Super Bowl XIX, the planned Joe Robbie Stadium — originally named Dolphin Stadium — was chosen by the NFL as the host site for Super Bowl XXIII. The stadium would host four more Super Bowls (XXIX, XXXIII, XLI and XLIV).

14. Since opening in 1987, Joe Robbie Stadium was later renamed Pro Player Park in 1996, then changed a year later to Pro Player Stadium until 2005 when it was Dolphins Stadium before switching to its original name of Dolphin Stadium for three years. It was then LandShark Stadium from 2009 to 2010 before the Dolphins signed a five-year deal to name it Sun Life Stadium. It will likely have a new name this year.

15. The 2010 NFL Pro Bowl was played at Sun Life Stadium, the first time in 30 years it was played outside of Hawaii.

16. Since being established in 2002, the Houston Texans remain the only NFL team the Dolphins have yet to beat (0-7).

17. Average price of gas in 1985: $1.24. Average price at the start of 2015 (the lowest in almost six years): $2.05

18. Number of times AFC East rivals have played in the Super Bowl since 1985: 12 (Patriots 8, Bills 4)

19. Number of teams other than the Dolphins which haven’t made a Super Bowl in past 30 years: 7 (Jets, Browns, Chiefs, Texans, Jaguars, Lions, Vikings)

20. Number of teams which made their first Super Bowl appearance: 13 (Patriots, Giants, Bills, Seahawks, Ravens, Bears, Buccaneers, Saints, Chargers, Falcons, Titans, Panthers, Cardinals)

21. Number of first-time Super Bowl winners: 9 (Bears, Giants, Broncos, Rams, Ravens, Patriots, Buccaneers, Saints, Seahawks)

22. Number of starting quarterbacks for the Dolphins since Marino retired in 2000: 17 (Jay Fiedler, Damon Huard, Ray Lucas, Brian Griese, AJ Feeley, Sage Rosenfels, Gus Frerotte, Joey Harrington, Daunte Culpepper, Cleo Lemon, Trent Green, John Beck, Chad Pennington, Chad Henne, Tyler Thigpen, Matt Moore and Ryan Tannehill)

23. Number of first-round picks the Dolphins have used on quarterback in the past 30 years: 1 (Ryan Tannehill, 2012)

Ryan Tannehill is one of 17 quarterbacks to have started for the Dolphins since Dan Marino retired in 2000.

24. The Miami Heat began play as an expansion franchise in 1988 and have won three championships (2006, ’12, ’13).

25. The Miami Marlins began play in 1993 and have won two titles (1997, 2003). Notably they shared the same stadium as the Dolphins through 2012.

26. The Florida Panthers began play in 1993 and reached the Stanley Cup Finals in 1996.

27. The Miami Hurricanes football team has won four national championships since the Dolphins last played in a Super Bowl (1987, 1989, 1991 and 2001).

28. Don Shula coached the Dolphins for 26 years and posted just two losing seasons during his tenure. Since he retired in 1995, the team has posted seven losing seasons.

29. Number of head coaches since Shula retired in 1995: 8 (Jimmy Johnson, Dave Wannstedt, Jim Bates*, Nick Saban, Cam Cameron, Tony Sparano, Todd Bowles*, Joe Philbin) (* – interim  head coaches)

30. Total number of playoff games they coached: 9

You can follow Surya Fernandez on Twitter @SuryaHeatNBA or email him at SuryaFoxSports@gmail.com.