Perez wins fourth straight Rawlings Gold Glove Award

In 2016, Salvador Perez threw out the most would-be basestealers in the AL (30) and had the second-best caught stealing percentage (42.9).

Jim Mone/AP

Kansas City Royals catcher Salvador Perez has more hardware to add to his growing collection as the All-Star catcher won his fourth straight American League Rawlings Gold Glove Award on Tuesday.

Royals first baseman Eric Hosmer and left fielder Alex Gordon were Gold Glove finalists but did not win the award.

In 2016, Perez led all AL catchers in games played (128) for the third consecutive season. He was behind the plate for 1,105 2/3 innings last season.

Perez led the league in assists (77) and fielding percentage (.996) and tied for the lead in putouts (989). He committed only four errors, threw out the most would-be basestealers in the AL (30) and had the second-best caught-stealing percentage (42.9) in that span. His 550 games behind the plate since the start of the 2013 season are the most in the majors.

The Gold Glove awards are voted on by managers and coaches from the American and National Leagues and honor the best individual fielding performances at each position in both leagues.

This is the sixth straight season the Royals have had at least one Gold Glove winner.

The Royals have won a total of 30 Gold Gloves in franchise history, with 13 different players honored. They are:

1971 -€“ Amos Otis (OF)

1973 -€“ Amos Otis (OF)

1974 -€“ Amos Otis (OF)

1977 -€“ Al Cowens (OF), Frank White (2B)

1978 -€“ Frank White (2B)

1979 -€“ Frank White (2B)

1980 -€“ Frank White (2B), Willie Wilson (OF)

1981 -€“ Frank White (2B)

1982 -€“ Frank White (2B)

1985 -€“ George Brett (3B)

1986 -€“ Frank White (2B)

1987 -€“ Frank White (2B)

1989 -€“ Bob Boone (C), Bret Saberhagen (P)

2000 -€“ Jermaine Dye (OF)

2006 -€“ Mark Grudzielanek (2B)

2011 -€“ Alex Gordon (OF)

2012 -€“ Alex Gordon (OF)

2013 -€“ Alex Gordon (OF), Eric Hosmer (1B), Salvador Perez (C)

2014 -€“ Alex Gordon (OF), Eric Hosmer (1B), Salvador Perez (C)

2015 -€“ Alcides Escobar (SS), Eric Hosmer (1B), Salvador Perez (C)

2016 -€“ Salvador Perez (C)