‘Greatest Show on Turf’ stars Bruce and Holt among Pro Football Hall of Fame finalists

Isaac Bruce (left) and Torry Holt (right), both of whom starred for the St. Louis Rams during the late 1990s and early 2000s, are finalists for this year's Pro Football Hall of Fame class.
Jeff Curry/Kirby Lee/USA TODAY Sports

Isaac Bruce and Torry Holt, the two star wideouts from the St. Louis Rams‘ “Greatest Show on Turf” era, are among 15 finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s modern-day 2020 class.

Holt is joined by six others who have never been finalists: Packers safety LeRoy Butler; Panthers linebacker Sam Mills; Steelers safety Troy Polamalu; Dolphins linebacker Zach Thomas; 49ers defensive tackle Bryant Young and Colts receiver Reggie Wayne.

Bruce, a past finalist, is joined by Broncos/Jets safety Steve Atwater; Jaguars tackle Tony Boselli; Steelers/Jets/Cardinals guard Alan Faneca; Seahawks/Vikings/Titans guard Steve Hutchinson; Colts/Cardinals/Seahawks running back Edgerrin James; Buccaneers/Broncos safety John Lynch; and Patriots/Raiders defensive lineman Richard Seymour.

These 15 will be considered for selection on Feb. 1 in Miami. A player must receiver 80% of votes from the selection committee. A maximum of five modern-day players can be chosen.

For the first time this year, the Hall of Fame also is adding 10 senior candidates, three contributors and two coaches to be inducted in the Canton, Ohio, shrine in August. That is a special selection in celebration of the NFL’s 100th season.

Lynch, now the general manager of the San Francisco 49ers, is a finalist for the seventh time. Faneca is a fifth-time finalist, while Boselli, Bruce and James are in their fourth year making the finals. Atwater and Hutchinson have done so three times, Seymour twice.

The class of 2020 will be introduced during the NFL Honors, when The Associated Press announces its NFL individual awards winners, on the evening of Feb. 1 on Fox.

The entire 20-person class of 2020 will be on hand for the enshrinement week in Canton. Modern-era players along with contributors and coaches will be formally enshrined on Saturday, Aug. 8. The 10 seniors will have their own inductions the week of Sept. 16-19.