Samford QB Hodges named SoCon's top offensive player

BY foxsports • November 22, 2016

(STATS) - Devlin Hodges and Samford got quite a gift Sunday when they made the FCS playoff field despite a 15-14 upset loss to ETSU in their season finale.

On Tuesday, the sophomore was honored for his particularly outstanding body of work in his first 10 games. Hodges was named the Southern Conference's offensive player of the year by both the coaches and media after leading the FCS in completions (342), completion percentage (71.4) and finishing third in touchdown passes (33).

"Shout out to my Dogs for getting me this one! Love you boys!" Hodges tweeted in reaction to the award.

Chattanooga had the SoCon's offensive player of the year last season in Jacob Huesman, but this year had the conference's top defender in senior lineman Keionta Davis. The coaches voted Western Carolina quarterback Tyrie Adams as the freshman of the year.

Unbeaten conference champion The Citadel took home the SoCon's final two coaches awards. Offensive lineman Isaiah Pinson, Jr. won the Jacobs Blocking Award while Brent Thompson was named the conference's top coach in his first year on the sidelines for the Bulldogs.

Chattanooga led the way on the coaches' all-conference first team with seven selections. The Citadel followed with six, Wofford had five and Samford four, giving the league's four playoff teams 22 of the 24 first-team spots, including specialists.




DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Keionta Davis, DL, Chattanooga

FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR - Tyrie Adams, QB, Western Carolina

JACOBS BLOCKING AWARD - Isaiah Pinson, OL, The Citadel

COACH OF THE YEAR - Brent Thompson, The Citadel



QB - Devlin Hodges, Samford

RB - Derrick Craine, Chattanooga

RB - Lorenzo Long, Wofford

OL - Nick Jeffreys, The Citadel

OL - Isaiah Pinson, The Citadel

OL - Corey Levin, Chattanooga

OL - Jacob Revis, Chattanooga

OL - Anton Wahrby, Wofford

TE - Ryan Swingle, VMI

WR - Karel Hamilton, Samford

WR - Andrej Suttles, Furman


DL - Joe Crochet, The Citadel

DL - Keionta Davis, Chattanooga

DL - Miles Brown, Wofford

DL - Tyler Vaughn, Wofford

LB - Shaheed Salmon, Samford

LB - Dale Warren, Chattanooga

LB - Nakevion Leslie, Chattanooga

DB - Dee Delaney, The Citadel

DB - Kailik Williams, The Citadel

DB - Omari Williams, Samford

DB - Lucas Webb, Chattanooga


PK - David Marvin, Wofford

P - Ian Berryman, Western Carolina

RS - DeAndre Schoultz, The Citadel

in this topic

share story