Last week, Cam Newton had a conversation with commissioner Roger Goodell regarding what he felt was a lack of roughing-the-passer calls. Fast-forward to Monday, and Carolina Panthers head coach Ron Rivera said his QB took another questionable hit Sunday that did not draw a flag.
During the Panthers’ 13-10 win over the Rams, Newton appeared to take a few blows to the head but not one of them was penalized.
Rivera said Monday that while he understands it’s not always easy for the officials to see the fouls, he’ll still have a talk with the league.
Article continues below ...
“It's tough,” Rivera said, via ESPN. “It's tough for them to judge things as they happen at full speed and from the angles [and] all that kind of stuff. But there was one of concern, and we'll send it and see what the league has to say and we'll go from there.
“Other than that, I thought they handled it very well. … So just one of concern, and we'll talk about if they agree or disagree. But for the most part that's just the nature of the game.”
Rivera did not elaborate which play he will submit to the league.
Rams safety Mark Barron appeared to hit Newton’s helmet with a hard forearm after he initially connected with Newton’s upper body.
Linebacker Alex Ogletree’s knee made contact with Newton’s facemask while the quarterback was on the ground, nearly ripping off his helmet.
Defensive tackle Donald connected with Newton on what appeared to be a helmet-to-helmet hit after the reigning MVP threw the ball.