Confusing decision annoys Seb

BY foxsports • November 7, 2011

Linesman Jake Collin appeared to award Sunderland a spot-kick in their 1-0 defeat to Manchester United but, after a discussion with Lee Mason, the decision was overturned. The initial accusation was that a Manchester United player handled the ball, but the unclear replays seemed to show Black Cats player Ji Dong-won commit the offence. Although Larsson believes it was the right call, he was frustrated by the manner in which it was dealt with. The midfielder told the Shields Gazette: "In the end it's the right decision, which is fair enough, and that's what we all want. "But what I don't understand is if the linesman gives it and the referee agrees and points to the spot, it seems that neither of them has seen what has actually happened. "So it's a penalty. Why did they change their mind? "That's the confusing thing, but I suppose it was the right decision and there's different ways of getting there." Steve Bruce's side did their best to ruin Sir Alex Ferguson's 25th anniversary celebrations and reduced the home side to an uncharacteristic lacklustre display. After a win at Bolton and draw at home to Aston Villa, Sunderland moved back down to 15th in the Premier League - just a point above the drop zone. But Larsson felt his side were unlucky in failing to come away with any points on Saturday. He added: "They didn't really trouble us that much. "That makes it even more frustrating that we left without any points, especially as it's an unlucky own goal that's the difference between the two sides. "United are solid at the back, but we did get a lot of the ball in the second half and credit to us for taking the game to them. "But we need to keep working hard and I'm sure those little things will go in our favour."


share story