Prep football awards to be webcast Friday

Prep football awards to be webcast Friday

Published Jan. 9, 2013 8:22 a.m. ET will present a live webcast of the Arizona High School Champions Luncheon on Friday, Jan. 11, at 1 p.m. (Click here to go to streaming page.) The 20th annual event is presented by the Valley of the Sun Chapter of the National Football Foundation and honors the top high school football players and coaches from the 2012 season.

The Sheriff’s Youth Assistance Foundation is lending its support as the title sponsor of the event at the Hilton-Scottsdale Resort, which kicks off with a social hour starting at noon.

The NFF’s blue-ribbon committee has named the recipients of four special Arizona high school football awards.  Patrick Joseph of Hamilton will receive the Frank Kush Award as the state’s top interior offensive lineman; Eddie Giannina of Mountain Ridge, the Curley Culp Award as most outstanding defensive lineman; Darell Garretson of Chandler, the Danny White Award as the best senior quarterback; and Robert Relf of Brophy Prep ,the Ron Pritchard Award as the top senior linebacker.  Also attending will be the All-State Top 25 Team as selected by the Arizona Football Coaches Association.

The event will honor each of the division-winning head coaches from the recent AIA state championships, and the 10th annual Earl “Tiny” Putman Award will be presented to the coach who overcame the most adversity to achieve success during the 2012 season.

Invited guests include head coaches Todd Graham of Arizona State and Rich Rodriguez of Arizona.

For more information, go to