TD or INT? Wacky Golden Tate play in end zone further muddles completion rule
The Lions have a penchant for controversial touchdown plays.
With 53 seconds left in the second quarter Sunday, wide receiver Golden Tate appeared to have the ball ripped out of his hands by Bears defenders as he caught the ball and broke the plane of the goal line, subsequently leading to an interception called on the field.
After the play was reviewed, referee Walt Coleman reversed the call, saying Tate had possession of the ball long enough to negate what happened after.
Bears linebacker Jonathan Anderson seemed to come down with the interception, but take a look for yourself.
FOX Sports NFL officiating expert Mike Pereira also thinks the rules needs to be clarified.
Clearly the most confusing part of the game right now, determining whether it's a catch or not after turning… Needs to be looked at. #NFL
— Mike Pereira (@MikePereira) October 18, 2015
Tate not going to the ground to make the catch http://t.co/aXFsh3lobw
— Dean Blandino (@DeanBlandino) October 18, 2015