FRENCH OPEN '11: Tournament at a glance

FRENCH OPEN '11: Tournament at a glance

Published May. 19, 2011 7:00 a.m. ET

A look at the French Open, the year's second Grand Slam tennis tournament:

Site: Roland Garros in Paris.

Surface: Clay courts.

Schedule: The 15-day tournament begins Sunday. The women's singles final is June 4; the men's singles final is June 5.


2010 Men's Singles Champion: Rafael Nadal of Spain.

2010 Women's Singles Champion: Francesca Schiavone of Italy.

Last Year: Nadal beat Robin Soderling of Sweden 6-4, 6-2, 6-4 to win his fifth French Open title. It was Soderling's second consecutive runner-up finish at Roland Garros; he upset Roger Federer in the quarterfinals. Schiavone became the first Italian woman to win a Grand Slam singles title by beating Sam Stosur of Australia 6-4, 7-6 (2). Less than a month shy of 30, Schiavone was the oldest woman since 1969 to win her first major tennis title.

Key Statistic I: 37-0 - Novak Djokovic's record in 2011, the best start to a tennis season by a man since John McEnroe went 42-0 to begin 1984.

Key Statistic II: 38-1 - Nadal's career record at the French Open. The only loss came to Soderling in the fourth round in 2009. Nadal will be trying to equal Bjorn Borg's record of six French Open titles.

Prize Money: Total is ?17,520,000 (about $25 million), with ?1.2 million (about $1.7 million) each to the men's and women's singles champions.



Get more from tennis Follow your favorites to get information about games, news and more

in this topic