Newton wins Maxwell Award as nation's top player

BY foxsports • December 10, 2010

Auburn quarterback Cam Newton has won the Maxwell Award presented annually to the nation's best all-around college football player.

Newton is also the favorite to win the Heisman Trophy on Saturday night. He led the unbeaten Tigers (13-0) to the Southeastern Conference championship and a spot in the Bowl Championship Series national title game against Oregon.

The other finalists for the Maxwell Award were Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck and Boise State quarterback Kellen Moore.

share story