Sports car star Antonio Garcia to make Formula E return

Antonio Garcia finished 11th place at the Punta del Este ePrix earlier this season.

©2014, Richard Dole/LAT Photo U

Just two days after the announcement that Justin Wilson would be replacing Scott Speed for the Moscow ePrix, another driver change has been announced ahead of next Saturday’s ninth round of the 2014-2015 FIA Formula E series.

Antonio Garcia will replace Charles Pic for the NEXTEV TCR Team (formerly China Racing). Garcia has one career start for China Racing in the FIA Formula E series, where he finished in the first position outside of the points – 11th – at the Punta del Este ePrix.

Though the cause of the Wilson/Speed driver change has been declared due to conflicting commitments (Speed will be at the Red Bull Global Rallycross at X Games Austin next weekend) no reason has been publicly given as to the Garcia/Pic driver change.

Garcia will team with Nelson Piquet Jr., who currently leads the FIA Formula E series driver standings. Pic, meanwhile, has had a less-than-stellar season, currently sitting in 17th in the points with only two points finishes in five starts. The team currently sits fourth in the FIA Formula E team standings.

Click HERE for more Formula E news and features.