Major League Baseball
Tim McCarver up for Frick Award
Major League Baseball

Tim McCarver up for Frick Award

Published Oct. 5, 2011 4:18 p.m. ET

Tim McCarver, Skip Caray and Ken Coleman are among the 10 finalists for the Ford C. Frick Award for excellence in baseball broadcasting.

The finalists also include three fan selections produced from online balloting - Mike Shannon, Tom Cheek, and Eric Nadel. A total of 37,212 votes were cast, a record under this voting format.

The other seven candidates were chosen by a Hall of Fame research committee and include Jacques Doucet, Rene Cardenas, Bill King and Graham McNamee.

McCarver, Nadel and Shannon are the active broadcasters on the ballot. Cardenas and Doucet are the only other living candidates among the finalists.


The award is presented annually by the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum.

The winner will be announced Dec. 6 at the Baseball Winter Meetings.


Get more from Major League Baseball Follow your favorites to get information about games, news and more