Tigers lose run on appeal play

BY foxsports • September 15, 2012

The Detroit Tigers has had a run disallowed in the fifth inning when it was ruled on appeal that a runner did not touch third base before scoring in a game against the Cleveland Indians.

Quintin Berry hit a ball into the hole at shortstop Saturday, where Asdrubal Cabrera fielded it and threw to third to try and get Alex Avila advancing. But the throw was wild and Avila scored and Berry advanced to second.

Cleveland changed pitchers and, before throwing a pitch, reliever Tony Sipp stepped off the mound and threw to third on an appeal. Third base umpire Wally Bell ordered Berry back to second. The Indians then appealed again and Bell called Avila out, negating the run and making the score 4-0 after it had turned to 5-0 on the scoreboard.