Major League Baseball
Harvey, deGrom, Syndergaard, Matz win toast of town award
Major League Baseball

Harvey, deGrom, Syndergaard, Matz win toast of town award

Updated Mar. 4, 2020 5:06 p.m. ET

NEW YORK (AP) Mets pitchers Matt Harvey, Jacob deGrom, Noah Syndergaard and Steven Matz were voted the winners of the Joe DiMaggio Toast of the Town award by the New York chapter of the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

The quartet will receive the honor at the chapter's annual dinner on Jan. 23.

Mets manager Terry Collins got the Ben Epstein/Dan Castellano Good Guy award after leading the team to its first World Series appearance since 2000, and Mets outfielder Curtis Granderson earned the New York Player of the Year award at the chapter's annual meeting Tuesday.

LaTroy Hawkins, a 42-year-old pitcher retiring after 21 major league seasons, was voted the William J. Slocum and Jack Lang Long and Meritorious Service award.


The Arthur and Milton Richman You Gotta Have Heart award goes to Toronto pitcher Marcus Stroman, who tore his left anterior cruciate ligament during spring training, then returned in September and made three postseason starts. Kansas City reliever Wade Davis earned the Babe Ruth award as postseason MVP.

Yankees Hall of Famer Yogi Berra, who died in September, earned the Joan Payson award for community service. Pitchers Tim Hudson, Barry Zito and Mark Mulder were voted recipients of the Willie, Mickey & The Duke award - Hudson and Zito are both retiring; Mulder pitched his final game in 2008.

The Casey Stengel You Could Look It Up award goes to Tommy John, the first pitcher to have elbow ligament replacement surgery.


Get more from Major League Baseball Follow your favorites to get information about games, news and more