Miley named an All-Star; Hill part of ‘Final Vote’

The rosters for the MLB All-Star Game in Kansas City on July 10 were announced Sunday, and Diamondbacks rookie pitcher Wade Miley was selected as a reserve for the National League team while second baseman Aaron Hill was named one of five finalists for the fans’ “Final Vote.”
Miley will be the first D-backs rookie to participate in the Midsummer Classic. The left-hander will be the 17th rookie pitcher to be named to the NL All-Star Team and the first since the Marlins’ Dontrelle Willis in 2003. He is the 18th All-Star in franchise history.
Among NL starters, the 25-year old ranks tied for sixth with nine wins and tied for 16th with a 2.87 ERA and a .227 opponents average to go along with 66 strikeouts and 19 walks. Miley, who opened the season in the bullpen and made three relief appearances before earning a spot in the rotation, also is batting .345 (10 for 29) with two doubles and an RBI. He had an eight-game hitting streak from April 14-June 1.
Hill recently made national headlines after hitting for the cycle twice in 12 days — first on June 18 at home against the Mariners and then on June 29 in Milwaukee against Brewers — to become just the second player in MLB history to do so twice in the same season. Babe Herman of the Brooklyn Robins accomplished the feat on May 18 and July 24, 1931.
Among NL second basemen, the 30-year-old Hill is tied for first with 11 home runs, second with a .301 average, 84 hits and a .362 on-base percentage, third with 38 RBIs and first with 33 extra-base hits and a .516 slugging percentage. He reached base safely in 21 straight games from April 12-May 4, tied for the ninth-longest streak in the NL this season. Defensively, Hill has only three errors this season, with his last coming April 21, giving him 62 straight errorless games.

Balloting for the Final Vote is now under way at and The D-backs are encouraging fans to submit their votes and use hashtag #FinHillVote on Twitter to support Hill’s candidacy for his first career All-Star berth.

Voting concludes at 1 p.m. Arizona time on Thursday, and the winners in each league will be announced on shortly thereafter.

As for the remainder of the NL roster, first baseman Joey Votto of the Reds, Dodgers outfielder Matt Kemp and three Giants players highlight the starting lineup.

Catcher Buster Posey, outfielder Melky Cabrera and third baseman Pablo Sandoval will represent San Francisco. The Cardinals had two players selected — Carlos Beltran in center field and Rafael Furcal at shortstop — and the lineup was completed with second baseman Dan Uggla of the Braves.

NL manager Tony La Russa and his staff will choose the designated hitter.

In the American League, Rangers outfielder Josh Hamilton led all players with a record total of more than 11 million fan votes.

The Yankees will have three starters — shortstop Derek Jeter, second baseman Robinson Cano and outfielder Curtis Granderson — while catcher Mike Napoli and third baseman Adrian Beltre join Hamilton in representing Texas.

Prince Fielder of the Tigers will start at first base after being named MVP of last year’s All-Star Game at Chase Field while playing for the Brewers.