Knicks asked about time, but review wasn't allowed

BY foxsports • December 16, 2010

Coach Mike D'Antoni asked officials if they were certain how much time was left on the clock before the Knicks' final possession of their loss to Boston on Wednesday night.

NBA rules prevented them from being positive.

Paul Pierce's jumper broke a 116-all tie and the clock stopped with 0.4 seconds left. Video replays have shown the ball appeared to go through the net with 0.6 seconds to go.

D'Antoni said Thursday he asked the referees during the ensuing timeout ''are you sure'' the clock is right?

Amare Stoudemire then made a 3-pointer, but a replay confirmed he released it after the buzzer.

Officials can only use replay to determine how much time is left if the clock goes to 0.0 or if they clearly saw the clock not stop.



share story