Germany's World Cup team wins Laureus team award

April 15, 2015

SHANGHAI (AP) Germany's World Cup-winning national squad won the team of the year prize at the Laureus Sports Awards on Wednesday.

Germany beat Argentina 1-0 in last year's final in Brazil to win its fourth World Cup title and first in 24 years.

The German team was picked for the Laureus award over Mercedes' Formula One-winning team, the NBA champion San Antonio Spurs, the Davis Cup-winning Swiss team, the European Ryder Cup-winning team, and Real Madrid, winners of the Champions League title

The Laureus Awards were held for the first time in China and brought out many of the country's top sports stars, including a heavily pregnant tennis player Li Na, basketball player Yao Ming and former Olympic champion hurdler Liu Xiang.