Rooney favourite for PFA award

The Manchester United star has enjoyed an outstanding season, even

if it appears his success at club level will be limited to the

Carling Cup. Rooney has scored 34 goals for United this term and

has catapulted himself among the true world-class talents. If

Rooney did win, it would be the fourth time on the trot a member of

the Old Trafford camp had received the accolade, following on from

Ryan Giggs last year, and Cristiano Ronaldo, who was player of the

year in the two seasons before that. Rooney does have some

competition, although the usual six-man shortlist has been trimmed

to four. Like Rooney, Arsenal skipper Cesc Fabregas has been

selected for both the main award, and the young player of the year

prize. Although he has been sidelined for the rest of the season by

injury, Fabregas held together a Gunners’ title challenge that

twice seemed to have collapsed before Tottenham almost certainly

snuffed it out last night. As champions-elect, Chelsea were bound

to have a representative, and while he might not have hit the

heights as consistently as in other years, Didier Drogba’s goals

ensured the Stamford Bridge outfit came through their rocky patch

and are now in line to become only the seventh team to land the

domestic double. Manchester City’s emergence as a Premier League

force is also confirmed by the presence of Carlos Tevez, who has

been such a pivotal figure for the Blues since his controversial

summer move from neighbours United. City also have a representative

for the young player prize, although in Joe Hart’s case that has

only happened following a successful loan move to Birmingham. Aston

Villa’s James Milner is the fourth name on that list, testament to

his outstanding form for Martin O’Neill’s men, which seems certain

to earn him a place in Fabio Capello’s England World Cup squad.

PFA Players’ Player of the Year nominees

Carlos Tevez The 2009/10 season was destined to be a crucial

year for Tevez from the moment he made his high-profile summer

switch from champions Manchester United to Manchester City. He has

not disappointed.

Cesc Fabregas The classy midfielder has been at the hub of

Arsenal’s quest for glory at home and abroad this season with the

Gunners refusing to be written out of the title equation.

Didier Drogba It has been another season to remember for

Chelsea striker Drogba as he and his team-mates have closed in on a

first Premier League title since 2006.

Wayne Rooney Rooney has enjoyed a breathtaking season for

Manchester United which all England fans are praying will continue

during this summer’s World Cup.

PFA Young Player of the Year nominees

Cesc Fabregas The Spain international is the perfect leader

for Arsene Wenger’s version of the beautiful game in North London,

delivering creativity, goals and drive to inspire those around him

at Emirates Stadium.

James Milner The words of Fabio Capello at the end of March

tell you almost all you need to know about Aston Villa’s Milner.

England’s manager said: “This year our most improved player is


Joe Hart Birmingham were tipped as potential relegation

candidates at the start of the season but Hart has played a major

role in helping the Blues establish themselves in the top half on

their return to the Premier League.

Wayne Rooney At the time of his nomination for the PFA

awards, Rooney has bagged an astonishing 34 goals in all

competitions for the Red Devils in the most prolific season of his