Hamm heads USWNT’s all-time squad

Forward Mia Hamm and defender Joy Fawcett were unanimous selections for the U.S. Soccer Federation’s All-Time Women’s National Team Best XI as part of the governing body’s 100th anniversary celebration.

Midfielders Michelle Akers and Kristine Lilly were one vote shy of unanimous in balloting announced Thursday. Forwards Abby Wambach and Alex Morgan, and defender Christie Rampone were the only active players picked. Morgan, at 24, was the youngest.

The rest of the team included goalkeeper Briana Scurry; defenders Brandi Chastain and Carla Overbeck; and midfielders Julie Foudy and Kristine Lilly.

Last week, Julie Foudy drew the ire of current US goalkeeper Hope Solo in the process. Solo was not selected, losing out to Scurry. Both Foudy and Solo took to Twitter and voiced their opinions:

There were 56 voters from among media members, administrators and former players. Here’s the full list:

Goalkeeper: Briana Scurry 1994-2008 (31 votes).

Defenders: Brandi Chastain 1988-2004 (31), Joy Biefeld (Fawcett) 1987-2004 (56), Carla Werden (Overbeck) 1988-2000 (49), Christie Rampone (Pearce) 1997-present (46).

Midfielders: Michelle Akers 1985-2000 (55), Julie Foudy 1988-2004 (40) and Kristine Lilly 1987-2010 (55).

Forwards: Mia Hamm 1987-2004 (56), Alex Morgan 2010-present (15) and Abby Wambach 2001-present (52).

The Associated Press contributed to this report.