Four new players in Austria squad for qualifier

Austria coach Dietmar Constantini has called up four new players

for the team’s opening 2012 European Championship qualifier against

Kazakhstan in Salzburg on Sept. 7.

Midfielders David Alaba, Veli Kavlak and Christoph Leitgeb and

forward Stefan Maierhofer were added to the 23-man squad announced

Tuesday by Constantini.

Zlatko Junuzovic, Daniel Beichler and Andreas Hoelzl, who played

in Austria’s 1-0 loss to Switzerland in a friendly two weeks ago,

are missing with injuries while Patrick Wolf has been dropped.

The squad contained 12 players from foreign clubs, including

eight from the German Bundesliga.

Austria and Kazakhstan are in qualifying group A with Germany,

Turkey, Belgium and Azerbaijan. The finals tournament will take

place in Poland and Ukraine in June 2012.

Austria has never qualified for the finals of a European

Championship, though it took part in the 2008 event as a co-host

with Switzerland.


Goalkeepers: Christian Gratzei (Sturm Graz), Michael Gspurning

(Xanthi), Juergen Macho (Panionios).

Defenders: Ekrem Dag (Besiktas), Aleksandar Dragovic (Austria

Vienna), Christian Fuchs (Mainz), Florian Klein (Austria Vienna),

Manuel Ortlechner (Austria Vienna), Emanuel Pogatetz (Hannover),

Sebastian Proedl (Werder Bremen).

Midfielders: David Alaba (Bayern Munich), Julian Baumgartlinger

(Austria Vienna), Jakob Jantscher (Red Bull Salzburg), Veli Kavlak

(Rapid Vienna), Umit Korkmaz (Eintracht Frankfurt), Christoph

Leitgeb (Red Bull Salzburg), Franz Schiemer (Red Bull


Forwards: Martin Harnik (Stuttgart), Erwin Hoffer

(Kaiserslautern), Marc Janko (Twente), Roland Linz (Austria

Vienna), Stefan Maierhofer (Duisburg), Roman Wallner (Red Bull