Anderlecht wins Belgian league title

Anderlecht won its 32nd league title on Sunday, holding closest

challenger Zulte Waregem to a 1-1 draw on the last day of the


Argentina international Lucas Biglia made sure the title was

Anderlecht’s when his deflected freekick in the 59th minute brought

the team even after Zulte Waregem’s Jens Naessens opened the

scoring three minutes earlier.

Under complicated rules, the six top finishers of the season

entered a 10-round competition with the points of the regular

league table halved at the start of the playoffs. Anderlecht

finished with 49 points, two ahead of Zulte Waregem.

Anderlecht qualifies directly for the group stage of next

season’s UEFA Champions League while Zulte Waregem goes into the

qualifying round.