NASCAR announces nominees for 2016 Hall of Fame class, Landmark Award

Mark Martin was one of five competitors added to the list of 20 nominees eligible for the 2016 NASCAR Hall of Fame class. 

Chris Trotman

NASCAR on Friday announced the 20 nominees for the NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2016.

Five members selected from that group will be inducted into the Hall next January.

New to the list this year are Ray Evernham, Harry Hyde, Alan Kulwicki, Mark Martin, and Hershel McGriff.

Following are the 20 nominees for induction into the NASCAR Hall of Fame, listed alphabetically:

Buddy Baker, won 19 times in NASCAR’s premier (now Sprint Cup) series, including the Daytona 500 and Southern 500

Red Byron, first NASCAR premier series champion, in 1949

Richard Childress, 11-time car owner champion in NASCAR’s three national series

Jerry Cook, six-time NASCAR Modified champion

Ray Evernham, three-time NASCAR premier series championship crew chief

Ray Fox, legendary engine builder and owner of cars driven by Buck Baker, Junior Johnson and others

Rick Hendrick, 14-time car owner champion in NASCAR’s three national series

Harry Hyde, 1970 NASCAR premier series championship crew chief

Bobby Isaac, 1970 NASCAR premier series champion

Alan Kulwicki, 1992 NASCAR premier series champion

Terry Labonte, two-time NASCAR premier series champion

Mark Martin, 96-time race winner in NASCAR national series competition

Hershel McGriff, 1986 NASCAR west series champion

Raymond Parks, NASCAR’s first champion car owner

Benny Parsons, 1973 NASCAR premier series champion

Larry Phillips, only five-time NASCAR weekly series national champion

O. Bruton Smith, builder of Charlotte Motor Speedway and architect of Speedway Motorsports Inc.

Mike Stefanik, winner of record-tying nine NASCAR championships

Curtis Turner, early personality, called the "Babe Ruth of stock car racing"

Robert Yates, won NASCAR premier series championship as both an engine builder and owner

The five nominees for the Landmark Award are as follows…

Harold Brasington, founder of Darlington Speedway

H. Clay Earles, founder of Martinsville Speedway

Raymond Parks, NASCAR’s first champion car owner

Ralph Seagraves, formed groundbreaking Winston-NASCAR partnership as executive with R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company

Ken Squier, legendary radio and television broadcaster; inaugural winner / namesake of Squier-Hall Award for NASCAR Media Excellence