Jeff Gordon named winner of third-quarter Driver of the Year Award

Jeff Gordon is chasing a fifth NASCAR Sprint Cup championship.

Jonathan Moore/Getty Images

Jeff Gordon has been named winner of the third-quarter Driver of the Year Award 2014.

The four-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion was selected for the honors by an elite panel of 17 American broadcasters and journalists. Gordon is also the first four-time Driver of the Year Award winner.

Gordon won his fifth Brickyard 400 this year, as well as the Pure Michigan 400 from the pole.

"It’s an honor to be recognized as the Driver of the Year for the third quarter, and it’s been an incredible summer for this No. 24 team," said Gordon, driver of the No. 24 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet.

"I’ve had the pleasure of handing Jeff many trophies," said Barry Schmoyer, president of the Driver of the Year Award Foundation. "His talent appears limitless."

Gordon had four first-place ballots and totaled 87 points in the voting.

Will Power, who drove the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske Dallara Chevrolet to the IndyCar championship, took seven first-place votes and totaled 77 points. Scott Dixon, driver of the No. 9 Target Chip Ganassi Dallara Chevrolet, was third with 47 points and one first-place vote.

Sprint car driver Donnie Schatz was fourth in the balloting with 33 points and two first-place votes. NHRA Pro Stock drag racer Jason Line tied Schatz with 33 points and one first-place ballot.

Gordon previously won the overall Driver of the Year Award title in 1995, 1997, 1998 and 2001.

"The team has really been performing at a high level, and anytime you win a Brickyard 400 it’s extremely special," added Gordon.

In its 48th year, the Driver of the Year Award title is unique. A panel of 17 leading journalists and broadcasters, including Tom Jensen of, determines the winner. Two panelists didn’t vote this time. In quarterly voting, points are awarded on a declining 9, 6, 4, 3, 2, 1 basis.