What time does the Kentucky Derby start?

Horse racing captures the sports spotlight on Saturday. It’s the first Saturday in May and that means one thing: The Kentucky Derby.

Will one of 20 3-year-olds be able to duplicate American Pharoah’s feat of 2015 and capture the Triple Crown, which had remained so elusive for 37 years.

There’ll be a six-figure crowd at Churchill downs in Louisville, Ky. Millions will be wagered on-track and through simulcasting and other options.

The morning-line favorite is Nyquist. The undefeated colt will break from post 13.

Post time for the Kentucky Derby is 6:34 p.m. ET. NBC will broadcast the event, with the main show starting at 4:30 p.m.

The undercard action will be on NBC Sports Network starting at noon ET.

The Churchill Downs card is loaded. Prime stakes abound.

Here’s the card with post times, which are subject to change throughout the day.

Race 1 — Post time – 10:30 a.m.; Allowance optional claiming $100,000

Race 2 — Post time – 11:01 a.m. Allowance optional claming $75,000

Race 3 —  11:31 a.m. Maiden special weight

Race 4 — 12:03 p.m. Maiden special weight

Race 5 — 12:35 p.m. Allowance optional claiming $62,500

Race 6 — 1:13 p.m. Churchill distaff turf mile

Race  7 — 1:55 p.m. Churchill Downs 

Race 8 — 2:45 p.m. Humana Distaff 

Race 9 — 3:35 p.m. American Turf

Race 10 — 4:25 p.m. Pat Day

Race 11 — 5:25 p.m. Woodford Reserve Turf

Race 12 — 6:34 Kentucky Derby

Race 13 7:35 p.m. Allowance optional claiming $75,000

Race 14 — 8:05 p..m. Maiden special weight






FOX Fantasy Auto Form a Racing Team, Compete for Prizes
Play Now!