PGA Championship at a glance

Facts and figures for the PGA Championship:

Event: 93rd PGA Championship

Dates: Aug. 11-14

Site: Atlanta Athletic Club (Highlands)

Length: 7,467 yards

Par: 35-35-70

Field: 156 players (136 tour pros, 20 club


Prize money: TBA ($7.5 million in 2010)

Winner’s share: TBA ($1.35 million in 2010)

Defending champion: Martin Kaymer

Last year: Kaymer closed with a 70 at Whistling

Straits and won a three-hole playoff when Bubba Watson hit into a

water hazard on the final hole and made double bogey. Dustin

Johnson thought he would be part of the playoff until he was

assessed a two-stroke penalty after his round for touching the sand

with his club on the 18th hole, not realizing he was in a


Last time at Atlanta Athletic Club: David Toms had

a one-shot lead on the par-4 18th in 2001 when he laid up instead

of trying to take on the water, then hit sand wedge to 12 feet and

made par to beat Phil Mickelson. Toms closed with a 69 and set the

major championship scoring record at 265.

Major champions at Atlanta Athletic Club: Jerry

Pate (1976 U.S. Open), Larry Nelson (1981 PGA), David Toms 2001


Return of the Tiger: Tiger Woods will play in the

final major of the year after sitting out the previous two majors

to let injuries to his left leg fully heal. Ten years ago in the

PGA Championship at Atlanta Athletic Club, he had to rally to make

the cut and tied for 29th.

Key statistic: Since the world ranking began in

1986, the PGA Championship has had only nine champions who were

among the top 10, the fewest of any major.

Noteworthy: American players, 0 for 3 in majors

this year, have won at least one major every year since 1994.

Quoteworthy: ”There used to be only Tiger and

Phil, No. 1 and 2, for many, many, many years. And now it’s

changing.” — Martin Kaymer.