NBA: Refs correctly stuck to call in Clippers-Thunder Game 5

BY foxsports • May 14, 2014


The NBA says because there was no ''clear and conclusive'' evidence on instant replay that their call on a ball out of bounds was wrong, referees correctly stuck to their original ruling late in Oklahoma City's victory over the Los Angeles Clippers on Tuesday night.

The Clippers believed the Thunder's Reggie Jackson had knocked the ball out of bounds with 11.3 seconds remaining, but officials ruled it Oklahoma City ball. After going to replay, the call stood, and the Thunder rallied to win the game.

Clippers coach Doc Rivers was livid, saying the Clippers were ''robbed,'' but NBA president of basketball operations Rod Thorn says Wednesday in a statement that: ''In order to reverse the call made on the court, there has to be `clear and conclusive' evidence. Since no replay provided such evidence, the play correctly stood as called with the Thunder retaining possession.''