ThorSport gives Jeb Burton nod for Martinsville truck race

Jeb Burton drove for ThorSport Racing in the Truck Series season opener at Daytona International Speedway.

Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

Jeb Burton will stick around with ThorSport Racing for at least one more event.

After scoring a seventh-place finish in the season-opening NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race last month at Daytona International Speedway, Burton will be back behind the wheel of the No. 13 ThorSport Toyota Tundra for the March 29 Kroger 250 at Martinsville Speedway.

Burton, 21, a native of Halifax, Va., won the first of his season-high seven Truck Series poles at Martinsville last season. In last year’s race, ThorSport teammates Johnny Sauter and Matt Crafton finished 1-2 at the Virginia short track, while Burton was third in the No. 4 Arrowhead Chevrolet.

After joining ThorSport at Daytona, the team is trying to put together additional sponsorship dollars to keep Burton and the third team truck going beyond Martinsville.

"We were really impressed with Jeb, his ability to mesh with the team and the way he worked his way through that first race and had a respectable finish, which isn’t easy at Daytona," ThorSport team manager David Pepper said in a statement released by the team. "We hope we can continue to build on the excitement Jeb and our team created at Daytona because we really need to get more support to continue racing this Tundra.

"At this point, we know Jeb will be driving our No. 13 Toyota and crew chief Dennis Connor will be leading his team. We’re working extra-hard to get something to put on the side of that truck."

"Martinsville is a special place to me, whether it was racing a Late Model Stock car, making my first start in the Truck Series and, for sure, winning that first pole last year," said Burton. "That racetrack has meant a lot to my career, and the fan support my entire family has gotten there has been really special to not only myself, but also my dad (2002 Daytona 500 winner Ward Burton) and my uncle (21-time Sprint Cup winner Jeff Burton), too."