Hollis Stacy to be inducted into Hall of Fame

Four-time major winner Hollis Stacy has been selected to the

World Golf Hall of Fame.

Hall of Fame CEO Jack Peter and LPGA Tour Commissioner Michael

Whan announced the selection Thursday at the tour’s season-ending

Titleholders event. Stacy, selected through the veterans category,

will be inducted into the Hall of Fame on May 7 at World Golf

Village in St. Augustine, Fla.

”When Mike Whan called me and said that Jack Peter was on the

other line, I thought, `Uh oh!’ I was speechless. I totally did not

expect it,” Stacy said. ”I’m just overwhelmed. I am humbled and

so excited. It’s such a great honor to be in the same group with

friends like JoAnne Carner, Nancy Lopez, Patty Sheehan, Betsy King

and Mickey Wright.”

Stacy won 18 times in her 26-year LPGA Tour career. She won the

U.S. Women’s Open in 1977, 1978 and 1984, and also won the 1983

Peter Jackson Classic – later named the du Maurier Classic. She

also won the U.S. Girls’ Junior Championship from 1969-71.

”On behalf of the LPGA, I would like to congratulate Hollis

Stacy on this well-deserved honor,” Whan said. ”Hollis was always

known as an extremely competitive player with an impeccable short

game and one of the most creative golf minds of her time. More

importantly, she will long be remembered as a truly nice person

with a passion for golf and life. She is an ambassador for women’s

golf and we could not be more proud of her.”

Stacy will join Phil Mickelson in the induction class. The Hall

of Fame will round out the class by announcing the inductees from

the international ballot and lifetime achievement categories.