Sampras, Agassi, Borg set for new Champions Series

Pete Sampras, Andre Agassi and John McEnroe are among the tennis stars set to compete in the redesigned Champions Series for over-30 players.

The tour’s 2011 schedule is being announced Tuesday. It includes one-night stops in 12 cities over five weeks. The season begins Sept. 22 at Ft. Lauderdale, Fla., and finishes Oct. 22 at Buffalo, N.Y.

Four men participate at each event, playing one-set semifinals. The winners meet in an eight-game, pro-set championship match.

At season’s end, a bonus pool of $1 million will be split by the top three in the Champions Series rankings.

The Champions Series was created in 2005. One of the founders was current U.S. Davis Cup captain Jim Courier. He’ll play this season, as will Bjorn Borg, Mats Wilander and Michael Chang.