UEFA confirms seeds for Euro 2016 playoff draw

UEFA confirms seeds for Euro 2016 playoff draw

Published Oct. 14, 2015 6:07 a.m. ET

NYON, Switzerland (AP) UEFA says Bosnia-Herzegovina, Hungary, Sweden and Ukraine will avoid each other in the playoffs for the European Championship as top seeds.

The teams they can be paired with in Sunday's draw are Denmark, Ireland, Norway and Slovenia.

The two-legged playoffs are being played from Nov. 12 to Nov. 17.

The eight nations are vying for the final four places in the expanded 24-team Euro 2016 after finishing third in their groups.


Alongside host nation France the other finalists so far are: Albania, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, the Czech Republic, England, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Northern Ireland, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey and Wales.