Tottenham face Cypriot test in Europa League playoff round

Tottenham face Cypriot test in Europa League playoff round

Published Aug. 8, 2014 7:57 a.m. ET

Tottenham will face Cypriot side AEL Limassol in the final play-off round of the Europa League.

Mauricio Pochettino's first European match in charge of Spurs will come in Cyprus on August 21, with Limassol travelling to London the following Thursday.

Last season Tottenham made it through the group stages but were eliminated by eventual runners-up Benfica in the last 16.

Hull's reward for a narrow win over Slovakian's AS Trencin in the previous round is a tie against Belgians Lokeren.


The Tigers' European adventure looked like it would end at the first hurdle thanks to Trencin's away goal in Thursday night's second leg at the KC Stadium but Sone Aluko netted a winner 10 minutes from time.

Lokeren, who will host the first leg, were beaten at the same stage last season by Czech side Viktoria Plzen.

Legia Warsaw will meet Kazakh side FC Aktobe.

The Poles beat Celtic 6-1 on aggregate in Champions League qualifying but were penalised for fielding an ineligible player.

Legia have already declared their intention to appeal after the result of the second leg was changed to a 3-0 defeat, which saw them eliminated on away goals.

Full Draw:

Sarajevo v Borussia Monchengladbach
Spartak Trnava v FC Zurich
Qarabag v FC Twente
RNK Split v Torino
Neftci v FK Partizan
Apollon Limassol v Lokomotiv Moscow
Asteras Tripolis v Maccabi Tel-Aviv
Petrolul Ploeiesti v GNK Dinamo
AC Omonia v Dinamo Moscow
Ruch Chorzow v Metalist Kharkiv
Astana v Villarreal
AEL Limassol v Tottenham
HJK Helsinki v Rapid Vienna
Aktobe v Legia Warsaw
Elfsborg v Rio Ave
Young Boys v Debreceni
Dnipro v Hajduk Split
Trabzonspor v FC Rostov
Lyon v FC Astra
PSV v Shakhtyor Soligorsk
PEC Zwolle v Sparta Prague
Dinamo Minsk v Nacional
Zimbru Chisinau v PAOK
Lokeren v Hull City
Kardemir Karabukspor v Saint-Etienne
Stjarnan v Inter Milan
Panathinaikos v Midtjylland
Feyenoord v Zorya Luhansk
Grasshopper Zurich v Club Bruges
Real Sociedad v Krasnodar
Rijeka v FC Sheriff