Donovan, McBride head USA's Best XI

Donovan, McBride head USA's Best XI

Published Dec. 20, 2013 12:00 a.m. ET

Current United States men's national team stars Landon Donovan and Clint Dempsey were voted to the United States Soccer Federation's All-Time Men's National Team Best XI as part of the governing body's 100th anniversary celebration.

Donovan was selected on 52 of 57 ballots in voting announced Friday, the highest total of any player.

Brad Friedel (25 votes) was picked for goalkeeper ahead of Kasey Keller (14), Tim Howard (13) and Tony Meola (4).

Marcelo Balboa, Carlos Bocanegra, Steve Cherundolo and Eddie Pope were voted at defender, and Donovan and Dempsey were joined in the midfielder by Claudio Reyna and Tab Ramos.


FOX Soccer's Brian McBride and Eric Wynalda were selected at forward. Voters include media, administrators and former players.

Full squad:

Goalkeeper: Brad Friedel 1992-2004 (25 votes).

Defender: Marcelo Balboa 1988-2000 (35 votes), Carlos Bocanegra 2001-2012 (25 votes), Steve Cherundolo 1999-2012 (25 votes) and Eddie Pope 1996-2006 (33 votes).

Midfielder: Clint Dempsey 2004-present (25 votes), Landon Donovan 2000-present (52 votes), Tab Ramos 1988-2000 (42 votes) and Claudio Reyna 1994-2006 (45 votes).

Forward: Brian McBride 1993-2006 (45 votes) and Eric Wynalda 1990-2000 (43 votes).