Seminoles' Jameis Winston wins Camp, O'Brien Awards

BY foxsports • December 12, 2013

Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston has captured two of college football's top honors, the Walter Camp Award as player of the year and the Davey O'Brien Award, given to the nation's top quarterback.

The redshirt freshman is the second player from Florida State to win the Walter Camp, joining quarterback Charlie Ward in 1993, and the third Seminoles quarterback to capture the Davey O'Brien.
Winston, the Heisman Trophy favorite, hopes to join the past three Davey O'Brien winners, who all went on to take home the Heisman in the same year.
Winston has set FBS freshman records for yards passing (3,820) and touchdown passes (38), leading No. 1 Florida State (13-0) to the BCS championship game against No. 2 Auburn. His 190.6 passer efficiency rating is tops in the country and on pace to set an NCAA record.
Other Camp finalists included Texas quarterback Johnny Manziel, Northern Illinois quarterback Jordan Lynch, Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron and Boston College running back Andre Williams.
Winston was selected over McCarron and Manziel for the O'Brien.
The Associated Press contributed to this report.