Cowboys sign three 2012 draft picks

Cowboys sign three 2012 draft picks

Published Jun. 11, 2012 2:16 p.m. ET

The Cowboys announced Monday that they have signed three of their seven 2012 draft picks.

Wide receiver Danny Coale, tight end James Hanna and linebacker Caleb McSurdy all agreed to terms.

Coale, a fifth-round pick out of Virginia Tech, broke his foot during the Cowboys' first organized team activity last month but should be back by training camp. He is expected to compete with Kevin Ogletree, Dwayne Harris, Andre Holmes and Raymond Radway for the No. 3 receiver spot behind Miles Austin and Dez Bryant.

Hanna, a sixth-round selection, was added to fill the void left by Martellus Bennett, who signed with the New York Giants in March. Hanna, a Flower Mound product, is considered a better pass-catcher than blocker. He started 27-of-54 games for Oklahoma, catching 45 passes for 673 yards over the last two seasons.

McSurdy, a seventh rounder, is a project at inside linebacker that is expected to contribute on special teams in 2012. The 6-1, 245-pounder recorded 131 tackles during his senior year at Montana.

Financial terms of the contracts were not disclosed, but according to, each contract is expected to include league-minimum base salaries of $390,000 (2012), $480,000 (2013), $570,000 (2014) and $660,000 (2015).

With those contracts out of the way, the Cowboys have four unsigned picks remaining, top pick Morris Claiborne, third rounder Tyrone Crawford and fourth round selections Kyle Wilber and Matt Johnson.


Follow Jon Machota on Twitter: @jonmachota