Greg Van Avermaet wins Tirreno-Adriatico title by 1 second

Updated Mar. 5, 2020 1:42 a.m. ET

SAN BENEDETTO DEL TRONTO, Italy (AP) Belgian rider Greg van Avermaet won the Tirreno-Adriatico title by one second on Tuesday, 39 years after compatriot Roger de Vlaeminck.

The final 10.1-kilometer time trial was won by Fabian Cancellara of Trek-Segafredo, with BMC Racing's Van Avermaet more than 30 seconds back in 24th place but crucially still only seven seconds behind Peter Sagan.

Tinkoff's Sagan finished second in the overall classification behind Van Avermaet, who benefited from Sunday's mountainous stage - a 178-kilometer (110.6-mile) ride from Foligno to Monte San Vicino - being canceled because of snow.

Van Avermaet says triumphing by ''one second is not a lot but it's enough for me to win. It was not my best time trial today but I'm happy that this one second is my side.''