Haley, Coakley headed for college Hall

Haley, Coakley headed for college Hall

Published May. 24, 2011 11:54 p.m. ET

Longtime NFL linebackers Charles Haley and Dexter Coakley were selected for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame's Divisional class for players and coaches who made their marks at small colleges.

Haley played at James Madison from 1982-85. He is still the school's career leader in tackles and in 1986 he became the first player from the school selected in the NFL draft.

He went on to a stellar career with the San Francisco 49ers and Dallas Cowboys and was a member of five Super Bowl champions.

Coakley starred at Appalachian State from 1993-96 and is the only two-time winner of the Buck Buchanan Award as the top defensive player in Division I-AA (now called FCS). He is still the Mountaineers' career leader in tackles with 616.


He was drafted by the Cowboys and went on to play in three Pro Bowls during a 10-year career.

Also picked were North Dakota State center Michael Favor, who played on two undefeated teams, including a national champion, from 1985-88, and Mickey Kobrosky, who played offensive and defensive back for Trinity College from 1933-36.

The two coaches in the class are Dayton's Mike Kelly, who won 82 percent of his games (246-54-1) in 27 years with the Flyers, and Bill Manlove, who won 211 Division III games while coaching at Widener (Pa.) University, Delaware Valley College and La Salle.