USA, Mexico name preliminary rosters for CONCACAF Cup

BY Kyle McCarthy • September 15, 2015

CONCACAF released the preliminary USA and Mexico rosters for the upcoming CONCACAF Cup on Tuesday.

The confederation required both countries to submit initial, binding squad lists of up to 35 players on Thursday ahead of the one-off playoff on Oct. 10 to determine the CONCACAF entrant in the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup.

Both countries must pick their final rosters their initial squad lists. They are expected to submit their 23-man squads for the playoff on Oct. 1.

Mexico manager Ricardo Ferretti named only 32 players on his initial roster, but he made room for Giovani dos Santos, Jonathan dos Santos and Guillermo Ochoa in that group.

All three players were left out Ferretti’s squad for the draws against Trinidad & Tobago and Argentina, but they could now return to the side in time for the date against the Americans. It is unknown whether Ferretti will issue them a recall for this affair.

Ferretti also found enough room to name Carlos Peña in his list, though the Club León midfielder has featured sparingly since the World Cup.

USA coach Jurgen Klinsmann offered few surprises with his 35-man roster, but he needed to juggle several availability and injuries issues for the players at his disposal.

Injured fullbacks DaMarcus Beasley and Fabian Johnson both feature after Klinsmann named them as his preferred starters earlier this month, while Timmy Chandler and Brek Shea both miss out on a place on the roster.

Klinsmann also named Stanford forward Jordan Morris in his selection, but he is still yet to determine whether Morris will join the senior team in California or strengthen the concurrent Olympic qualifying efforts instead.


Goalkeeper – Moises Muñoz (Club América), Guillermo Ochoa (Malaga), Jonathan Orozco (Monterrey), Alfredo Talavera (Toluca),

Defenders – Oswaldo Alanis (Chivas), Paul Aguilar (Club América), Miguel Herrera (Pachuca), Israel Jiménez (Tigres UANL), Miguel Layún (FC Porto), Rafael Márquez (Hellas Verona), Héctor Moreno (PSV Eindhoven), Diego Reyes (Real Sociedad), Arturo Rivas (Tigres UANL), Jorge Torres Nilo (Tigres UANL)

Midfielders – Javier Aquino (Tigres UANL), Jonathan dos Santos (Villarreal), Jesús Dueñas (Tigres UANL), Carlos Esquivel (Toluca), Andrés Guardado (PSV Eindhoven), Javier Güemez (Club América), Héctor Herrera (FC Porto), Luis Montes (Club León), Carlos Peña (Club León), José Juan Vázquez (Club León)

Forwards – Jesús Corona (FC Porto), Jurgen Damm (Tigres UANL), Giovani dos Santos (LA Galaxy), Elias Hernández (Club León), Javier Hernández (Bayer Leverkusen), Oribe Peralta (Club América), Raúl Jiménez (Benfica), Carlos Vela (Real Sociedad)


Goalkeepers – Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Tim Howard (Everton), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

Defenders – Ventura Alvarado (Club América), DaMarcus Beasley (Houston Dynamo), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders) Greg Garza (Atlas), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Michael Orozco (Club Tijuana), Tim Ream (Fulham), Jonathan Spector (Birmingham City), DeAndre Yedlin (Sunderland)

Midfielders – Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Joe Corona (Veracruz), Mix Diskerud (New York City FC), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Jermaine Jones (New England Revolution), Alfredo Morales (FC Ingolstadt), Lee Nguyen (New England Revolution), Danny Williams (Reading), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

Forwards – Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders), Alan Gordon (LA Galaxy), Aron Jóhansson (Werder Bremen), Jordan Morris (Stanford University), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes), Bobby Wood (Union Berlin)

share story