NASCAR Cup Series
Hillenburg rewarded for track work
NASCAR Cup Series

Hillenburg rewarded for track work

Published Jan. 21, 2013 5:14 p.m. ET

Andy Hillenburg, the former racer who returned Rockingham Speedway to a NASCAR track, has been named the 2012 National Motorsports Press Association Speedway Motorsports Spirit Award winner.

Hillenburg purchased the track in 2007 after its previous ownership group moved its long-held Sprint Cup race to another track and put the 1-mile track up for sale at auction. In 2012, after much work at the track and with NASCAR officials, he successfully gained a Camping World Truck Series race. The Good Sam Road Assistance 200 reportedly drew more than 25,000 fans to the track that was a fixture on the Cup schedule from 1965-2004.

A two-time Daytona ARCA race winner, Hillenburg won that series’ title in 1995. He is one of an elite group of drivers who have competed in both the Indianapolis 500 and Daytona 500.

The Spirit Award recognizes character and achievement in the face of adversity, sportsmanship and contributions to NASCAR.


Quarterly winners of the award in 2012 were Clint Bowyer, Hillenburg, Brad Keselowki and Ryan Newman.


Get more from NASCAR Cup Series Follow your favorites to get information about games, news and more

in this topic