NFL announces 32 nominees for Walter Payton Award

BY foxsports • December 16, 2014

NEW YORK (AP) The NFL has announced the 32 players eligible for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award.

Among the nominees are Green Bay quarterback Aaron Rodgers, Seattle quarterback Russell Wilson, Dallas running back DeMarco Murray, San Diego quarterback Philip Rivers, Kansas City linebacker Tamba Hali and Carolina linebacker Thomas Davis, who was a finalist last year.

Named for the late Hall of Fame running back, the award recognizes a player's community service and performance on the field.

Each team nominates a player, and the NFL Foundation donates $1,000 to a charity of his choice. The three finalists will receive an additional $5,000 contribution. They will be announced next month.

The winner will receive a $20,000 donation in his name to his favorite charity. The announcement will be made during the NFL Honors show Jan. 31, the night before the Super Bowl in Glendale, Arizona.


AP NFL websites: and

share story