6 NFL players receive franchise tags

BY foxsports • February 25, 2010

Oakland defensive end Richard Seymour and New England defensive tackle Vince Wilfork were among six players who received the franchise tag from their teams Thursday.

Kickers Olindo Mare of Seattle and Jeff Reed of Pittsburgh, Green Bay defensive tackle Ryan Pickett, and San Francisco defensive tackle Aubrayo Franklin also were on the list.

Seymour was the only one to be designated an exclusive franchise player. That means he cannot negotiate with other teams when free agency starts next month. Seymour will be guaranteed at least $12.398 million, which is the average salary earned last year by the five highest-paid defensive ends in the league.

The remaining five players can negotiate with other teams. Their current teams have the right to match any offer or get two first-round draft picks as compensation.

share story