Dale Earnhardt Jr. re-signs Regan Smith for 2015 with JRM

BY Jared Turner • October 2, 2014

Regan Smith has enjoyed a stellar two years in the Nationwide Series with JR Motorsports.

His reward?

A 1-year contract extension to remain with the Dale Earnhardt Jr.-owned company for 2015 in what will be rebranded next year as the Xfinity Series.

Earnhardt Jr. and Smith both confirmed Smith's new deal on Twitter this week, and seemed equally excited to make the plans known.

In two seasons with JR Motorsports, Smith has three Nationwide Series wins in addition to winning the 2012 season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway in an audition of sorts for JRM.

Smith, a former full-time Sprint Cup driver with 172 starts and one victory in NASCAR's top series, finished third in last year's Nationwide Series standings on the strength of two victories.

Smith began 2014 with a bang by winning the season opener at Daytona, and is second in the standings -- 26 points behind JR Motorsports teammate Chase Elliott -- with five races remaining.

Smith's lone Sprint Cup victory came at Darlington Raceway in the 2011 Southern 500 while driving for Furniture Row Racing.

in this topic

share story