Seager becomes latest Dodger honored as Rookie of the Year

BY foxsports • November 14, 2016

Los Angeles Dodgers shortstop Corey Seager has been voted National League Rookie of the Year, becoming the first player in two decades to win the award for the franchise that has historically dominated the honor.

Seager is the 17th Dodgers player to earn Rookie of the Year honors - easily the most of any team - but the franchise hadn't had a winner since Todd Hollandsworth in 1996.

Seager won the award unanimously in voting by the Baseball Writers' Association of America, announced Monday on MLB Network. He hit .308 with 26 home runs and 72 RBIs for the NL West champions.

Washington outfielder Trea Turner finished second, followed by Dodgers pitcher Kenta Maeda.

The AL Rookie of the Year was to be announced later Monday.