USGA expresses regret over handling of Dustin Johnson's penalty
One day after Dustin Johnson finished the U.S. Open so emphatically that the possibility of a one-stroke penalty looming over his final round didn’t matter, the USGA issued a statement expressing regret in how it handled that penalty.
USGA officials were roundly criticized Sunday, when Johnson was informed on the 12th tee that his possibly causing his ball to move before a putt on the fifth green might lead to a penalty at the end of the round. Social media exploded when it looked like one stroke might make the difference between winning and losing the championship, but Johnson finished strong and ended up winning by three strokes even after the penalty was finally assessed.
Before it explained why its ruling was correct, the USGA on Monday apologized for the way it disseminated information and then delayed a decision with the outcome of a major in the balance.
For the full explanation of why Johnson ultimately was penalized, check out the full statement below:
Here is the full statement from the USGA on the DJ situation ... pic.twitter.com/I4a1HpajX2— Shane Bacon (@shanebacon) June 20, 2016