Here's slow-motion proof Steph Curry's Game 2 move on LeBron was a double-dribble

BY Nunzio Ingrassia • June 5, 2017

It’s been called everything from disrespectful to jaw-dropping, but was it legal?

Steph Curry’s dribbling exhibition against LeBron James during the Golden State Warriors’ 132-113 beating of the Cleveland Cavaliers in Game 2 will likely be the lasting highlight of the series. It was a one-on-one moment that NBA fans salivate over, and in this instance Curry got the better of LeBron.

But a closer look at the sequence appears to show that the reigning two-time MVP got away with a sleight-of-hand maneuver that’s not exactly legal. Curry tried to lose LeBron on the baseline but opted to dribble back beyond the arc and ball-faked James, who left his feet for the briefest of moments.

It was just enough time for Curry to dribble around the four-time MVP and finish a layup around James, who desperately tried to pin the ball against the backboard. But during that pump-fake, Curry’s left hand looks like it touched the ball ever so briefly, which would be a double-dribble.

Here’s the footage, which is paused at the 21-second mark to further highlight the potential violation.

https://twitter.com/BleacherReport/status/871734977834225666

It’s not like NBA players don’t bend the rules when it comes to traveling. LeBron appeared to get away with a blatant travel earlier in the postseason against the Celtics, but this one does seem to take some of the luster off Curry's move.


in this topic
Eastern Conference Eastern Conference
Eastern Conference, Central Division Eastern Conference, Central Division

share story