LSU Tigers
Three SEC offensive lines named as Joe Moore Award semifinalists
LSU Tigers

Three SEC offensive lines named as Joe Moore Award semifinalists

Published Nov. 17, 2015 9:17 p.m. ET

The first annual Joe Moore Award semifinalists were Monday -- given to the top offensive line unit in the country -- and the three SEC teams made the list of 20 finalists. 

For the award's consideration, offensive lines are judged by six criteria: toughness, effort, teamwork, physicality, tone setting and finishing. 

The five finalists for the award will be named Nov. 30 and the winner of the inaugural award will be announced Dec. 7. 

The three SEC teams to make the list were Alabama, Arkansas and LSU. 



The Tide O-line has steadily improved over the season, leading Heisman-hopeful Derrick Henry to three 200-yard rushing games in the last four games and a rushing TD in 15 straight games – the longest streak by an SEC player in the last 20 seasons. In dominating the line of scrimmage on both sides of the ball, Alabama is 11th in the nation in time of possession (33:17).


After early season struggles, the Arkansas O-line has hit its stride during the team’s four-game winning streak, including their upset of #9 LSU this weekend. The Hogs offense ranks in the top 25 in several statistical categories: they are 5th in time of possession (33:43), 6th in tackles for loss allowed per game (4.1), 14th in sacks allowed per game (1.1) and 21st in average yards per rushing attempt (5.22).


The Tigers have lost two games in a row, but the body of work by their O-line unit for the 2015 season is still among the best in the country. They are 4th in the nation in yards per rushing attempt (5.98) and 10th in the nation in rushing yards per game (253.00). Leonard Fournette still leads the nation with 1,474 rushing yards and has scored 17 TDs on the ground.


Get more from LSU Tigers Follow your favorites to get information about games, news and more