Sources: Roush makes crew chief change

BY foxsports • September 21, 2010

Jack Roush has promoted Drew Blickensderfer once again.

Blickensderfer will return to the Sprint Cup Series, this time on top of the No. 6 UPS Ford pitbox for driver David Ragan, sources told Tuesday. A Wednesday news released confirmed the change.

Most recently Blickensderfer was crew chief for Carl Edwards and the No. 60 in the Nationswide Series. The team is second in points behind Brad Keselowski.

Blickensderfer joined Roush Fenway Racing in 2003. He led the No. 17 Sprint Cup car and Matt Kenseth in 2009 and won the Daytona 500 and backed it up the following week with a victory in the Auto Club 500 at Fontana. He was replaced by Todd Parrott following this season’s Daytona 500.

Ragan, 24, scored his best career Cup finish of third in the Richmond fall race in 2007 and is currently 24th in the standings.

Blickensderfer replaces Donnie Wingo, who joined the organization in 2008 as Jamie McMurray's crew chief. He was reassigned to Ragan's team at the end of last season.

“It’s obviously a great opportunity and I’m eager to work with David Ragan, the No. 6 team and everyone at UPS,” Blickensderfer said in a news release.

“I actually started at Roush Fenway as a rear-tire changer and set-up mechanic on the No. 6 team, so it is kind of like coming full circle. There is a lot of tradition that goes with that team here at Roush Fenway and it is really an honor to get to head it up. I look forward to the challenge and can’t wait to get to Dover this weekend.”

Veteran Mike Beam replaces Blickensderfer atop the box for the No. 60 Nationwide Series team.

in this topic

share story