14 SEC players featured in the preseason Maxwell Award Watch List

Published Jul. 8, 2015 4:29 p.m. ET

The Maxwell Football Club recently released their preseason watch list for the Maxwell Award, awarded annually since 1937 to the best player in college football, and the initial list features 14 players from the SEC. 

The award is given out at the end of the season after collecting votes from college football head coaches, members of the Maxwell Football Club, sportswriters and sportscasters from around the world of college football. 

The SEC players named to the 2015 preseason Maxwell Award Watch List:

Kyle Allen (QB), Texas A&M Aggies 

Nick Chubb (HB), Georgia Bulldogs

Alex Collins (HB), Arkansas Razorbacks

Pharoh Cooper (WR), South Carolina Gamecocks


Joshua Dobbs (QB), Tennessee Volunteers

Leonard Fournette (HB), LSU Tigers

Russell Hansbrough (HB), Missouri Tigers

Derrick Henry (HB), Alabama Crimson Tide

Jalen Hurd (HB), Tennessee Volunteers

Jeremy Johnson (QB), Auburn Tigers

Maty Mauk (QB), Missouri Tigers

Dak Prescott (QB), Mississippi State Bulldogs

Laquon Treadwell (WR), Ole Miss Rebels

Duke Williams (WR), Auburn Tigers