This Date in Baseball-Week Ahead

Updated Oct. 28, 2021 11:48 a.m. ET

Nov. 2

1913 — St. Louis Browns manager George Stovall became the first to jump to the Federal League, signing to manage Kansas City.

1934 — William Heydler resigned as NL president because of poor health.

1937 — Detroit second baseman Charlie Gehringer, who led the American League in batting with a .371 average, was the league’s most valuable player.


1938 — Jimmie Foxx of the Boston Red Sox won his third American League MVP award. Foxx hit 50 homers and drove in 175 runs while batting .349 with 139 runs scored. He won in 1932 and 1933 with the Philadelphia A’s.

1950 — Philadelphia’s Jim Konstanty became the first pitcher in eight years to win the National League MVP award.

1960 — Roger Maris beat teammate Mickey Mantle by three votes, 225-222, to win the second closest American League MVP vote. The closest MVP race occurred in 1947, when Joe DiMaggio edged Ted Williams by a single vote.

1971 — Baltimore’s Pat Dobson pitched a 2-0 no-hitter against the Yomiuri Giants. It was the first no-hitter in Japanese-American exhibition history.

1972 — Steve Carlton, a 27-game winner for the last-place 59-97 Philadelphia Phillies, was the unanimous winner of the National League Cy Young award winner. Carlton went 27-10 with a 1.97 ERA and accounted for 46 percent of the team’s wins.

1974 — The Atlanta Braves traded Hank Aaron to the Milwaukee Brewers for outfielder Dave May.

2009 — Chase Utley hit two home runs to raise his World Series total to a record-tying five, Cliff Lee won again and the Philadelphia Phillies staved off elimination with an 8-6 victory over the New York Yankees in Game 5. Utley hit a go-ahead, three-run homer in the first off A.J. Burnett and added a solo shot in the seventh. He joined Reggie Jackson as the only players to hit five home runs in a single World Series.


Nov. 3

1926 — Ty Cobb resigned as Detroit manager and announced his retirement from baseball.

1934 — Mickey Cochrane of Detroit beat Triple Crown winner Lou Gehrig for the American League MVP award. Dizzy Dean of St. Louis, with a 30-7 record, was named NL MVP.

1953 — The sacrifice fly rule was reinstated. A sac fly would not be charged as an at-bat.

1953 — Despite winning the Triple Crown, Boston’s Ted Williams finished second in American League Most Valuable voting, 21 votes behind New York Yankee second baseman Joe Gordon.

1965 — Sandy Koufax of Los Angeles won the Cy Young award with a unanimous vote. Koufax went 26-8 with a 2.04 ERA and a record 382 strikeouts.

1970 — Bob Gibson of St. Louis won the National League Cy Young Award. The Cardinals pitcher finished with a 23-7 record.

1981 — Rollie Fingers of the Milwaukee Brewers won the American League Cy Young award. Fingers, the first reliever to win the AL award, had 28 saves and a 1.04 ERA and collected 22 of 28 first-place votes.

1987 — Oakland’s Mark McGwire won the American League Rookie of the Year unanimously. McGwire set a rookie record with 49 home runs.

2006 — Pitcher Greg Maddux won his 16th Gold Glove, tying the record shared by pitcher Jim Kaat and third baseman Brooks Robinson.


Nov. 4

1942 — For the second straight year Boston’s Ted Williams finished second in the MVP voting to a New York Yankee. Williams, despite hitting for the Triple Crown with 36 home runs, 137 RBIs and a .356 average, lost out to Joe Gordon. Gordon batted .322 with 18 homers and 103 RBIs. The previous year Williams batted .406 and finished second to Joe DiMaggio.

1959 — Ernie Banks of Chicago is the first player to win consecutive National League MVP awards.

1975 — Baltimore’s Jim Palmer, the AL leader in wins (23), shutouts (10) and ERA (2.09), won his second Cy Young award.

1976 — The first mass-market free agent draft was held. Reggie Jackson, Joe Rudi, Don Gullet, Rollie Fingers, Don Baylor, Bobby Grich were among those available.

1980 — Steve Carlton won his third National League Cy Young award. Carlton was 24-9 with 2.34 ERA for Philadelphia.

2001 — Luis Gonzalez hit an RBI single to cap a two-run rally off Mariano Rivera in the bottom of the ninth, and the Arizona Diamondbacks won their first championship by beating the New York Yankees 3-2 in Game 7 — one of the greatest comebacks in World Series history. Curt Schilling and Randy Johnson were named co-MVPs.

2009 — The New York Yankees won the World Series, beating the defending champion Philadelphia Phillies 7-3 in Game 6 behind Hideki Matsui’s record-tying six RBIs. Andy Pettitte won the clincher, pitching the Yankees to their 27th championship and first since 2000. Matsui homered, doubled and singled, and tied Bobby Richardson’s 49-year-old record for RBIs in a Series game. His two-run homer off Pedro Martinez in the second inning started the Yankees on their way.